Sully – The Miracle on the Hudson

A few days ago I wrote a post about a book I’m reading right now. The book “Sully” was written by the pilot who successfuly put his plan with 155 passengers to the Hudson River, in Manhattan. I was looking for the movie for so long in Hungary, but I didn’t have a success… until yesterday. Today I had more time to watch it, and now I would like to share my experience with you.

Sully (2016)mv5bmtg5ntuwndiyov5bml5banbnxkftztgwmji2otc3ote-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_
Stars: Tom Hanks, Aaron Eckhart
Lenght: 1 hour 36 minutes
Genre: Biography, Drama

The movie is based on the crash of Flight 1549. The whole movie starts with a weird dream, where Tom Hanks, aka Sully dreamt about a plane crash in downtown in Manhattan. I was checking the movie title again to see whether I am watching the right movie. But then I realized it was only his dream. Afterwards we could find ourselves at an investigation room, where the NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board) personnel asked several questions from the pilots. Then we could look back at the accident’s day, which I think would have been better as a starting to understand what was the accident. In the end we could sit into the court, where we could get to know the view of NTSB and the view of the pilots.

First of all, Aaron Eckhart was a very good choice, he is very similar to Jeffrey Skiles, the first officer of the flight. I don’t feel the same about Tom Hanks, but maybe it’s only my view. What do you think?

The second one, which really disturbed me: showing an unprofessional NTSB in the movie. I guess for giving more excitement to the movie they made the board seem to be less professional, who can be wrong. Although I haven’t been to any investigations yet, and I can say thinks after watching 14 seasons of Aircrash Investigations, I don’t think that the NTSB acted in the real life like the movie showed. They had more accidents before, so in my opinion counting with the human factor is one of the thing they always count with.

I can suggest the movie to all the aviation lovers, but unfortunately I don’t think this movie was that good. I didn’t feel bored, but I’m sure I wouldn’t sit down to watch Sully again in the future.

One thought on “Sully – The Miracle on the Hudson

  1. Pingback: My last three… #4 – Kulturgram

Leave a Reply

