21 things that Americans can do, but Indians cannot – in my view.

When I was in India, I found an article which compared Indians with the “Americans” – what Americans can do and Indians cannot. The writer is Indian, and either he was only in the USA before he wrote this article, or he’s a kind of person who call every “Western” people Americans. All in all, the article compares Indian and Western habits. To be honest I’m wondering why he wrote this article about his own country, it seems he doesn’t really like India, but anyway! I collected his points, and I make my own comments.

1. Not giving a damn about PDA

kissing_in_publicWell, well, yes, in Western countries people don’t really care whether someone is kissing on the street or what they are doing… but at least in India I never saw anyone almost having sex on the streets. People in India don’t really like if a couple are kissing on the streets, but we’re in 2017 already, and in cities there are more modern people. I have already seen kissing an Indian couple in a public park in Delhi, and they didn’t get into trouble.

2. Greeting strangers

Okay, noone can tell me that anyone can do this better than Americans 😀 People stops talking on the streets, they stop talking on the shops, etc. Of course in smaller cities. I never saw Indians greeting each others randomly.

3. Holding the door open for others

Well, I disagree with this point. Even in Western countries people don’t hold the door for others. I have no idea why it’s a problem if someone doesn’t hold the door for us. Well, it’s polite in my opinion not to shut the door in front of others, but I would never mention this as a problem.

4. Say thank you

Haha, yes, I have never heard any Indians saying thank you. I nor heard them saying hello or greeting someone in the shops. My friend told me people in India don’t say thank you to their friends, because it’s natural to help to each others. On the other hand it was very weird, when he told me not to say than you when he gave me a 30-40 kms long drive in the evening…

5. No impatient honkingtraffic-in-delhi-007

Hahahaha, have you ever been to New York, man? 😀 There are impatient honking everywhere in a big city. Horn by the way is used at turning, so they make others know that someone is coming. I think we should use it in Western countries.

6. Staying unmarried

Living together as an unmarried couple in India can be difficult. Once, one of my friends tried to persuade me that it’s not a taboo to live together in India and have a child without marriage. Well… I didn’t really believe him.

7. Following escalator etiquette

I didn’t think that this can be a problem for a “non-budapester”. 😀 Seriously, only people in Budapest are complaining about where to stand on the escalator.

8. Giving a friendly hug to friends of the opposite sex

Well, I heard it’s not a problem to greet our opposite sex friend with a hug in India… Firstly I also thought it’s not the best idea, but when my Indian male friend greeted all of us (girls) with a hug in a crowded street, my views have changed.

9. Throwing trash into the dushbindwarka-1_650_082914104116

I agree with this. Even there are some dushbins on the road in India (but mostly not), people throw the trash onto the ground. (and then the cows are eating that… true story. And very disgusting)

10. Talking to children about sex

Yeah… in India people don’t really like talking about sex with each others, even when they are adults.

11. Complying with zebra crossing rules

Is there any crossing on the streets in India? 😀 I never saw any, or I just don’t remember.

12. Not judging someone based on profession

It’s totally not true. Even in the USA some people judge others on the profession. For example, in this year in the camp one of the Hungarians got a bad comment from a parent that she’s working in a summer camp. It was really shocking, as the parent didn’t even know that she’s not an American.

13. Minding your own business

Hahaha, I totally disagree 😀 There are people everywhere who want to know better what you should do in your life, there are people everywhere who wants to know every little gossips and so.

14. Following your passion

Maan, these comments are worse and worse. I met some very ambitious people in India, and there are many Western people, who don’t care about their future.

15. Giving way to the ambulance

First of all, in those crowded streets in India it’s impossible to give a free way to ambulance and fire brigades.

16. Marrying for love

Although this still happens in India, there are more and more families who give more freedom to their children, so they can select their husband/wife according to their will.

17. Quitting your job just for that road trip

And I envy them so much! 😀 Well, it also really depends. But yeah, most of the people I heard doing this were from the USA. Of course it really depends on the economy, if it’s easy to find a good paid job, then why not? Unfortunately the wages in India are not that high, so they cannot travel so easily, though nowadays there are more and more Indians in other countries.

18. Not staring at women/foreigners

big_1424947261Hahahahahaha, I agree :D Even you are a male, you will be stared at in India. If you’re a female, even more. An Indian guy became upset because of this point and he responded with his comment that in Western countries the males have a look at the girls’ butt. Well… :D I don’t know, for me it’s not so annoying if someone has a short look at my butt, but staring at me annoys me more :D

19. Allowing boys in school to grow long hair

I have no experience in this, but sounds funny.

20. Not being judgemental about LGBTs

There are people in every country who judge LGBTs.

21. Following basic movie-hall etiquettes

Sorry, I haven’t been to a cinema in India, I have no idea 😀

Indien#IndiaThese are his points. And, I would add 1 more: using metros. I was always afraid of using the metro in Delhi, because the people are incredible, in a negative way. Fortunately there are cars for women and men (well, as a foreign women please use the women’s car…), but even women turn crazy when they need to get into the metro cars. If someone stands up from the seat, there are immediately 5 women running to your place (it’s shocking, believe me…), and they don’t even wait till you move a little bit :D Getting on and getting off from/to the metro is going in the same time, the only thing I could do is to break my way. It was very rude, I know, but I realized everything is going there like “the stronger will win”.

I wrote my opinion according to my experience in Delhi. India is big, people and cities are different in all around the country, as the traditions.

What is your opinion?

9 thoughts on “21 things that Americans can do, but Indians cannot – in my view.

  1. smadronia

    Having never been to India, I can’t comment on how things are different there vs in the United States. I will say the #5, impatient honking, is a funny one. For some reason, in Portland, Oregon, almost no one honks. If someone’s sitting at a light not moving, we might honk. But aside from that? It’s pretty uncommon.

    Stephanie/Smadronia
    Bloggy bloggy #1

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, yes, the honking. In the USA I met only honkings in New York, though I have been to other cities as well in many states. Actually, it’s funny, because even in Hungary there are some unpatient drivers, and not only in the capital city. Yesterday I took my driving exam, and I stopped at a light a little bit early, and there was a women behind me, who started using her horn. After I started, she left me behind with more honkings. It was so awkward :S but fortunately I passed the exam 😀

      Like

  2. I enjoyed the post 😀

    Actually, every city in India has a typical nature of its own. One can identify a city from the other merely by following the way people converse. As you’ve said, it’s a big country and there are 22 official languages apart from English.
    Delhi, the capital, is known for its indifferent attitude. People there use too many expletives even while talking normally! Had you been in Kolkata, you could have seen Zebra Crossing at regular points and people using ‘thank you’ and excuse me’ 😀

    Like

    1. Unfortunately I haven’t been to Kolkata, but I’d love to go there one day! My friend, who is also staying in Delhi, but came from Mumbai told me the people have totally different attitude in Delhi, she mentioned it in a little negative way. She told me girls care too much about money, they care too much about their appearance, and so. I found it really interesting.

      Like

      1. Delhi has a different attitude, I can understand 🙂 You’ll find Mumbai very interesting with a liberal attitude. In Kolkata, people care about manners..it’s also called the cultural capital of India….I hope you’ll be here some day… 🙂

        Like

    1. Yes, and I’m very sorry in those times! 😦 Unfortunately many Hungarians are doing the same, they move to more developed countries to earn more money, and then they talk about Hungary like it would be the worst country in the world. In those time I would really like to ask them if they hate Hungary so much, why do they use their “hated country”‘s official language?

      Like

Leave a Reply

