The hidden Paradise – Gili Meno

While everyone in my home country was celebrating the cold Christmas in 2015, I decided to take a trip to the paradise with 35 Degrees.

You must know that I think there are a lot of overrated places in the world, which aren’t that good that people think. In my opinion, Bali is one of them. Okay, it’s beautiful, but not that far from Bali island there are some more beautiful places with nice beaches, like the Gili islands.

Gili islands have 3 islands: the bidreye2Gili Trawangan (or Gili T), Gili Air, and Gili Meno. Trawangan is the biggest island, it’s the most well known among tourists. It has a lot of markets, pubs and clubs to hang out. Of course, this is the most expensive island as well. While everyone is partying in Gili Trawangan, I decided to go to the most calm island, to Gili Meno. It’s so small that you can go around the island in 1.5 hours.

To be honest you cannot do anything else on the island than relaxing and snorkeling (you can swim with turtles!!). There is nothing more to do there, as there are no temples to visit, no museums, nothing… only beaches! 🙂 I didn’t mind that, I really wanted to stay on the beach and relax only. Well, it would have been better if I used more suncream and I didn’t get horrible sunburnt at snorkeling!

How to get to Gili Meno?

Getting to the Gilis can be confusing a bit, at least I thought this. You can take a fast boat from Bali to Gili T for about 400 000 rupiahs (if you book it in advance). However, if you take a boat from Lombok, it costs less (around 16 000 rupiahs only). The „slow” boats goes from Bangsal Harbour. The disadvantage of this harbour is that you may need to wait a long time to go to the Gilis. They sell tickets to the islands and the boats departs when they have enough passengers. To Trawangan boats went in every 15 minutes, but to Meno… not really. We needed to wait about 1.5 hours to depart. This is the same vice versa, from the islands back to Lombok. There are boats between the islands as well, but I don’t have that much experience in this, as we wanted to stay in Meno only.

So where 1did I stay?

I stayed in Tao Kombo, which was a very nice and calm accommodation with a few bungalows. In Gili Meno, if you want to find a cheap accommodation you should prepare yourself to have less comfort in your accommodation. Now I mean, the bathroom. The water is salty, so when you’re having a refreshing  shower, then you’ll realize it’s salty. Before going to Meno, I read online that the water will be salty, but I was like „Ehh, I can do it”. Well, not really 😀 I had problems with having shower for a long time afterwards during my travels. On the other hand, having a shower was fun in Tao Kombo:

Actually we stayed nearby the beach, so we heard its sound everytime. It was so romantic!

The another problem was the mosquitoes. There are many of them, so it’s better if you take some sprays against of them. There are several other animals, I have seen a snake (don’t ask whether it was venomous) and I saw a comodon dragon (well, it’s better to be far from it).

Where did I eat?

Unfortunately as the island was pretty small, we didn’t really have that much opportunity to find a cheap warung (restaurant). If you go to the heart of the island, you might find something, which are run by the local habitats, but I didn’t really wanted to do that with my friends. Eventually we decided to visit the restaurant which is located at the „harbour”, where the boats are arriving and leaving to Lombok. The prices are pretty high, but the view is amazing.4

If you ever think about going to Bali to visit beaches only, forget it. Go to Gili Islands, where there aren’t so many tourists, and enjoy the beaches there! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

