How to go to Poland by bus from Budapest?

The day of leaving to Poland is coming really soon. I wanted to write a post about this, and now, when my sister’s friend asked me how I bought my ticket and how much I paid for it, I decided to make this post real.

Maybe you already know that the bus transportation is more and more popular. There are a lot of low cost bus companies around the world, including Europe. If you are afraid of flying, you can get to an other country by bus as well. Actually to any country – I was very surprised when I saw a bus at Budapest coming from London. Well, I would think it twice to travel for 28 hours on the same bus, but still, the opportunity is given. However, now I would like to write about the top companies who run to various Polish cities.

1.  Polskibus
Cities (without transfer): Katowice, Kielce, Krakow, Radom, Warsaw, Wroclaw

1Polskibus runs from Kelenföld, nearby the metro and railway station in Budapest. The fares start from 1 zl (with 1 zl booking fee), which can be found mostly in weekdays during special deals. Between Friday and Sunday the tickets are a little bit more expensive, but still cheaper than buying a plane ticket. On 14th March I’m going to Wroclaw with Polskibus, I bought my ticket for 15 zl (including booking fee). I guess it was a good deal. If I could have gone in April, I could have bought the 1 zl ticket. Maybe next time!

On the buses you can find Wi-Fi and power outlets as well.

You can bring your luggage, which cannot extend 20 kgs. This is the main luggage which will be transfered in the luggage compartment. You can take your hand luggage onto the bus, which can be put under the seat or on the shelf above your head.

2. Orangeways
Cities (without transfer): Krakow

Orang1eways departs from Népliget, next to the Groupama Arena. I found tickets starting from 10 EUR from Budapest to Krakow.

You can bring 2 luggages which are stored in the luggage compartment and 1 hand luggage on board.

I didn’t really find any information about the buses on their website. However, some of my friends tried their service already, and they were satisfied with them.

3. LuxExpress
Cities (without transfer): Krakow, Warsaw

3LuxExpress departs from Népliget station. The tickets I found are from 10 EUR.

LuxExpress gives more extra to its traveler, like the touch screens on board, where you can watch videos, movies, listen to music, play games or surfing on the Internet. Above this, free Wi-Fi and power outlets are
provided. Free bottle of water is given, and you can get hot drinks on board.

Passengers are allowed to take a 5 kgs hand luggage and a 30 kgs main luggage.

4. Ecolines
Cities (without transfer): Bialystok, Czestochowa, Katowice, Krakow, Piotrkow Trybunalski, Warsaw

Ecoline buses depart from Könyves Kálmán körút1, nearby Népliget bus station. As I saw on their website the buses go to Poland on Wednesdays. Prices are from 20 EUR.

On boards you can find a touchscreen with Internet access, games, music and movies; free Wi-Fi, coffee or tea; food (hot and cold), power outlet.

Passengers can take a 5 kg hand luggage and 3 main luggages which weighted maximum 30 kgs each.

Eurolines used to have service between Budapest and Krakow, but the line is cancelled now. Cseh-busz has routes to Poland (Wroclaw, Lodz, Warsaw) with a transfer in Prague.

I hope my post was helpful. In case of any questions, don’t hesitate to write a comment. Please share your experiences about these buses with the readers. After I took the bus to Wroclaw, I will definitely write my experiences about PolskiBus! 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to go to Poland by bus from Budapest?

  1. Pingback: The Big Move – my first days in Poland – Kulturgram

Leave a Reply

