The Big Move – my first days in Poland

In my last post I promised you to write more about my journey to Poland with Polskibus. And, if I’m talking about my journey to Poland, I wouldn’t like to miss writing more about my first days in this lovely country.

On 14th March we arrived a little bit early to Budapest, though we went to do some shoppings before. I bought a lot of stuffs for the trip, as I had no idea when will be the next time when I had the chance to go to a shop and buy food. My father also couraged me to buy more food, so I was totally calm about having enough food – as it turned out, for the rest of the week.

At 5 o’clock the Polskibus came and everyone was very excited to depart to the bus. It turned out that the bus arrived from Poland actually. Unloading the bus and loading the bus almost happened in the same time, till one of the assistants told people not to do that. Of course nothing was said in English, only in Polish. Then I became a little bit worried about my near future with the luggage, as there were several people waiting for the bus, but definitely I had the biggest luggage in the bus stop. I was very afraid of waiting there additional time, and being said in Polish that the bag is too big and I cannot depart. After half an hour worrying the bus came, and the bus driver put my luggage onto the bus without any comments. Hahh, I survived and I was finally on the bus!

17239989_1370539556317874_4608726247468075115_o.jpg

I went onto the 2nd deck of the bus hoping to fin2d a place next to the window. The seat was very comfortable – it was a leather one, so during the 11 hours trip it was amazing. I hardly could find the power outlet, fortunately the guy next to me started charging his phone after half an hour, so I saw where I should look for the power outlet. And, the Wi-Fi connection was horrible. I guess every people on the bus wanted to connect to the Wi-Fi immediately, therefore for a while I couldn’t do anything online. I bought some datas to inform my company about my departure and check in on Facebook – because if I don’t do that, the trip doesn’t happen, right? 😉 I could connect to the Wi-Fi only in Poland, so after 5-6 hours of traveling. But I didn’t really needed it, I started sleeping on the bus and I was playing on my phone.

The bus driver drove totally uncarefully, so after so many years I said a pray for not having any accidents on the road. After my arrival to Wroclaw, the company driver picked me up and drove me to Kluczbork, where my company is. In his car I realized maybe not only the bus driver was crazy, but he as well. I still didn’t want to make any prejudices against of Polish drivers, but in Kluczbork I made it eventually when I saw other drivers on the roads – well, many Polish drivers try to drive like Kubica, the Formula 1 driver, but maybe they are not that good like Kubica. Anyway, I hope I can get used to the speed in a short time.

My accommodation is amazing. I live in a flat 5 minutes far from my workplace, and I have my own room. I live with an Ukrainian couple, who works in Flaxpol as well, but not in my department. However, there are 2 interns in my department, Roger, the Romanian guy, and Mario, the Spanish guy. They are very adorable, funny, and good teachers – Roger teaches a lot about the company, and Mario teaches a lot about Poland. They create a very good athmosphere at our desk, they often start joking with each others and with other employees as well. I’m happy to see that 17309302_10154438591008581_2439684356565924771_nfinally I found a level between the Indian and Indonesian internship, where I don’t need to work in every single second like a machine, and I don’t need to be bored for hours. Thanks to the guys on Thursday I could taste my first Polish food in my life, the “pierogi”.  Pierogi is made by wrapping pockets of unleavened dough around a savoury or sweet filling and cooking them in boiling water. I ate pierogies with mushroom and sauerkraut filling, but Mario gave one piece of meat pierogi, and a piece of the original pierogi from Roger.

The people in the office are very kind. Unfortunately as this is a small town, most people don’t talk English on a good level. German is more popular among people, but some of them speak it only on basic level. But I can say that they still try to use one of the languages. I realized that almost every Polish people mentioned the Polish-Hungarian friendships, and many people came to me with some Hungarian sentences, like “Egészségedre” (cheers), “Jó napot kívánok” (have a good day), or “Lengyel-magyar, két jó barát” (Polish, Hungarians, 2 good friends). The last sentence is from the past, when the Polish and Hungarians were fighting together for the Polish independence. The fight turned out positive, so since that time the 2 nations love each others and both nations know this sentence.

lengyel_magyar

I hope you enjoyed reading my first experiences in Poland. Next time I would like to write more about Kluczbork where I live. I planned this blog post for this weekend, but since the weather is not the best, I cannot take the tour with my camera.

6 thoughts on “The Big Move – my first days in Poland

  1. Pingback: Something that made me happy this month – March – Kulturgram

Leave a Reply

