A day in Wroclaw

wroclaw-poland-1449233554-x4f5-slide

On Sunday morning I woke up happily, because I knew I will have a very nice time in Wroclaw, 2 hours far from Kluczbork, where I live. I was horribly sleepy as I went to bed quite late, and we needed to reset the time (therefore I woke up several times during the night and check whether I didn’t oversleep!), but the excitement kept me alive.

This was the first time when I went to the Kluczbork train station. Although the others told me 15 minutes are enough to get there, my risk management system told me to go there a little bit earlier, so if I get lost, I would still have some time to find the way. Eventually I left at home half an hour before, and of course I found the station without any problems.

I was waiting for Roger, who took (or at least wanted to – an other story) the same train as he had his flight to Germany. I was hanging out in the waiting room, and went out to the platform 10 minutes before our departure. Roger arrived in that minute, and showed me the train standing there to hop on, as it’s ours. I also saw „Wroclaw” on it, so I had no doubts about taking that train. When we wanted to board, they closed the door – we were pretty surprised, so we wanted to get on from an other door. After Roger hopped on, they closed the door again, and I stayed in the platform. And… the train went away!! I was so shocked and I didn’t know what to do. There was a guy fortunately next to me who could speak English, so I could ask him whether the train is coming back or what’s happening. Well, it didn’t, as it went to the another direction.. with Roger. I called him immediately with my info, and later we figured out to call our colleagues and ask some of them to take him to Wroclaw airport. Fortunately Roger could get to the airport with Agnieszka.

My 2 hours train was together with the guy who helped me in the train station. He told me how much he likes Hungarians, though he has never seen the country before. He used to work with Hungarians in the Netherlands and in Oslo, and he liked them.

After 30 minutes delay I arrived to Wroclaw as well, where I planned to meet a girl, Daria from AIESEC. I was waiting there quite long time, and I decided to go to find the market square, as I knew she had some classes from 11:15. I was walking on the Promenade, when I got the call from her and asked me to meet her in 1 hour at the fountain of Market Square. She had problems with her battery, therefore she couldn’t contact me on phone.

From the Promenade I was heading to the Rynek (Market Square) to see the very beautiful, colourful buildings, hunt for gnomes, and meet Daria of course. As it was Sunday, there were a lot of people all around Wroclaw.

When Daria arrived, we went to eat pancakes, went to walk (we passed the Promenade again), and she took me to their AIESEC office, where I met more AIESECers, including Jagoda, who took me to a shopping mall, where we could have gone to the Sky Tower, which is the 2nd highest building in Poland with around 50 floors. Unfortunately we couldn’t go up, as the guests’ amount are limited in every hours, so we need to book a ticket beforehands. The next available spot was at 6, and unfortunately my train left at 18:35. Maybe next time! We ate ice cream with Jagoda and went back to the office.

I would really like to go back to Wroclaw in the near future to discover more touristy things. And, have you heard about the gnomes in Wroclaw? In the city you can find very cute mini gnomes, which became a tourist attraction, and people usually hunt them (like Pokemon, hahaha). So I wanted to participate in challenge, and catch as many gnomes as I can. I heard numbers from several sources, someone told me there are 200 something, but someone told me there are about 560.

And, what is their story? In the 80s, the Polish communist regime faced required a lot of courage and ingenuity. Members of Pomaranczowa Alternatywa (Orange Alternative) were noted for their creative use of absurdity and nonsense in complaining. Began his career painting dwarves on paint stains on the walls covering the anti-government graffiti. Dwarves present everywhere soon became symbols of the Polish dissident, came to life and hundreds of people dressed as orange dwarves began demonstrating in the streets demanding the resignation of things like Gargamel. Some of these dwarfs were stolen as souvenirs or memories of another time. But in 2001, were restored as the emblem of the city and today they have become a nice tourist attraction adorning its streets.

Next weekend I’m heading to Krakow, so be alert, and follow my writings 🙂

3 thoughts on “A day in Wroclaw

  1. 1. I love pancakes
    2. The architecture in Wroclaw is a lovely sight
    3. Gnomes usually creep me out, but as you stated, these are the cute ones 😀

    Thanks for sharing another journey of yours!

    Like

  2. minivandreams

    Oh my! I would have been in a complete panic if I got separated and watched my friend go the wrong direction on a train. Sounds like it all worked out and you had fun.

    Julia @ Mini Van Dreams

    Like

  3. Pingback: Something that made me happy this month – March – Kulturgram

Leave a Reply

